Edit Charts in the XrmToolBox for Dynamics 365

For the past months I have been collaborating with Mohamed Rasheed on a plugin for the XrmToolBox. We are pleased to announce that it is now available.

The plugin, which can be downloaded from the plugins store is called “Advanced Chart Editor” and it lets you modify the chart XML in Dynamics 365 (and Dynamics CRM) without having to export the charts or know how to write the XML. All the properties can be added or changed in the interface.

The tool focuses on the styling of the chart, so you can edit all the series and axis properties. Here’s a video to introduce the “Advanced Chart Editor” tool for XrmToolBox.

You can find the project on GitHub here
https://github.com/ITLec/ITLec.CRMChartGuy.XRMToolBox.AdvancedChartEditor

And on NuGet
https://www.nuget.org/packages/ITLec.CRMChartGuy.XRMToolBox.AdvancedChartEditor

Hope you enjoy it. And a huge THANKS to Mohamed Rasheed for pulling this off on the development side. He is a great developer and it definitely wouldn’t have happened without his contribution.

As always please sign up for my newsletter and follow me on Twitter.

And be sure to follow Mohamed Rasheed as well 

9 thoughts on “Edit Charts in the XrmToolBox for Dynamics 365

  1. I keep getting the error ‘input string was not in a correct format’ when I try to click open the series or chartareas. I’m on a Dynamics 365 version 8.2.1.207. Where can I send the error stack?I have this both on my production and dev environment.
    I hope it’s not a big issue, so I can quickly go about changing some charts…
    Nice work!

  2. I workup to this great new from a post from D365+CRMUG.. Just when you thought it could not get any better..Here comes Ulrik to the rescue.

    Cant wait to install this in my Dev environment.

  3. Hi,

    This looks great, but like others I can’t go further than opening the visual editor. After that I get a “unhandled exception” error if I click on any of the nodes. I have the latest update (the one in the app store).

Leave a Reply

